New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST > BMW Z4 Forum (E89) > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-25-2011, 04:11 AM   #1
mrboon
Lieutenant
No_Country
35

 
mrboon's Avatar
 
Drives: Speeeed
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: ***


Posts: 534
iTrader: (0)

Cool JB4 USB Cable Installation

Hi guys, i just got JB4 installed, and I also use the USB data cable to connect it to my laptop. Now i would like to have a more permanent solution, so I would like to run a cable from the ECU unit to the glove box, or somewhere near there.

I looked under the hood for a while, but I dont see any easy access. Does anyone ever installed something similar in their Z4? If so, do you have any tips?
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2011, 04:38 AM   #2
jannisa
Lieutenant
22

 
jannisa's Avatar
 
Drives: Z4 Sdrive35i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Greece - IMF


Posts: 490
iTrader: (0)

It 's kind of pita to run the cable through the ecu box into the cabin via the intergrated tunnel which should be a 15 min job on a 335. I tried it myself but gave up and handed it over to my technician who got it done in an hour. A must for your piggy imo.
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2011, 06:36 AM   #3
mrboon
Lieutenant
No_Country
35

 
mrboon's Avatar
 
Drives: Speeeed
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: ***


Posts: 534
iTrader: (0)

As far as I can tell from pics is the ECU box on the left side of the car with the 3 and 1 series. The Z4 has it on the right. This means its not on the side where the glove box is making it a lot harder to do the cable.
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2011, 07:21 AM   #4
jannisa
Lieutenant
22

 
jannisa's Avatar
 
Drives: Z4 Sdrive35i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Greece - IMF


Posts: 490
iTrader: (0)

This is not the hard part. The difficulty is that on the Z4 the tunnel is just too tight. On the 335 it practically passes through by itself. Leading the cable from inside the drivers side into the glovebox is a 2 min job but you need a lot more time and patience to pass it from the ecu box into the cabin. Been there done that.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2011, 11:57 AM   #5
mrboon
Lieutenant
No_Country
35

 
mrboon's Avatar
 
Drives: Speeeed
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: ***


Posts: 534
iTrader: (0)

I managed to do it turned out to be easier than expected.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2011, 04:34 AM   #6
jannisa
Lieutenant
22

 
jannisa's Avatar
 
Drives: Z4 Sdrive35i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Greece - IMF


Posts: 490
iTrader: (0)

There is a tunnel with a fan to cool the ecu box. I wouldn't pass it through there.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2011, 08:22 AM   #7
integraworks
Private
Canada
11

 
integraworks's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Z4 s35i
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario


Posts: 88
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by godius View Post
Hi guys, i just got JB4 installed, and I also use the USB data cable to connect it to my laptop. Now i would like to have a more permanent solution, so I would like to run a cable from the ECU unit to the glove box, or somewhere near there.

I looked under the hood for a while, but I dont see any easy access. Does anyone ever installed something similar in their Z4? If so, do you have any tips?
Question: on the Burger / JB4 website they encourage you to purchase their USB to RS232serial cable and state that use of any other similar cable can cause damage to the JB4 unit. What is your experience with this? Is the JB4 cable really any different from any other cable?
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2011, 09:48 AM   #8
mrboon
Lieutenant
No_Country
35

 
mrboon's Avatar
 
Drives: Speeeed
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: ***


Posts: 534
iTrader: (0)

Im not sure, i just bought their cable. Its a very basic one, usb to a 3 pin out. should be easy to make yourself i think
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2011, 03:31 PM   #9
persian54
Lieutenant General
United_States
642

 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal


Posts: 15,807
iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by integraworks View Post
Question: on the Burger / JB4 website they encourage you to purchase their USB to RS232serial cable and state that use of any other similar cable can cause damage to the JB4 unit. What is your experience with this? Is the JB4 cable really any different from any other cable?
is $30 really worth the risk?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.




zpost
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST