New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-09-2019, 04:32 PM   #1
nyalpine90
Lieutenant General
nyalpine90's Avatar
United_States
6057
Rep
11,216
Posts

Drives: G01 Msport
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: N.Y.

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2016 BMW X4  [5.00]
Laptop Notebook selection pls advise.

I currently have HP Envy Touchsmart laptop, looking to upgrade it. I use it to work from home, main program is AutoCad. Its drafting program used by Architects/Engineers.

What laptop or notebook can you guys/gals recommend?

Thanks in advance.
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2019, 05:28 PM   #2
AnOldBiker
Jim
AnOldBiker's Avatar
United_States
225
Rep
141
Posts

Drives: 2019 X5 XDrive 40i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Land of Retirement

iTrader: (0)

I only own Apple the last 10 years. Do you have the osx version of AutoCad ?
My son swears by it.
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2019, 07:45 PM   #3
nyalpine90
Lieutenant General
nyalpine90's Avatar
United_States
6057
Rep
11,216
Posts

Drives: G01 Msport
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: N.Y.

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2016 BMW X4  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnOldBiker View Post
I only own Apple the last 10 years. Do you have the osx version of AutoCad ?
My son swears by it.
I have LT version, waiting for the firm to upgrade me
The software is very expensive smh
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2019, 05:06 AM   #4
Dang3r
Schmollbraten
Dang3r's Avatar
Germany
4132
Rep
1,537
Posts

Drives: M4CPC
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Liandri Central Core

iTrader: (0)

MAC sux. I use an ASUS ROG (Dell Alienware before) for Auto CAD and also Solid Worx.
NASTRAM//PATRAM not entirely tested, but partly.
__________________
M4CP - ZX12R LE - GPZ750 Turbo

I///M the infidel, your BMW-dealer had warned you about
Appreciate 1
nyalpine906057.00

      01-10-2019, 05:54 AM   #5
tdott
Colonel
1320
Rep
2,498
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South FL / 6ix

iTrader: (3)

Name brand doesn't matter as much, get something with dedicated graphics and a high end processor with lots of ram and an SSD big enough for your needs.
Appreciate 1
nyalpine906057.00

      01-10-2019, 09:32 AM   #6
nyalpine90
Lieutenant General
nyalpine90's Avatar
United_States
6057
Rep
11,216
Posts

Drives: G01 Msport
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: N.Y.

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2016 BMW X4  [5.00]
browsing thru bestbuy

RAM: 8gigs or 12gig
Storage : SSD
Processor : Intel or AMD, which one? lots of options
Video Card : NVIDIA, INTEL or AMD
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2019, 09:43 AM   #7
PshhhhhMW
Major
PshhhhhMW's Avatar
523
Rep
1,028
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpine White M3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFV, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyalpine90 View Post
browsing thru bestbuy

RAM: 8gigs or 12gig
Storage : SSD
Processor : Intel or AMD, which one? lots of options
Video Card : NVIDIA, INTEL or AMD
If I know anything, Bestbuy is definitely not the place to get quality laptops. Head over to Newegg or Tigerdirect for a much larger variety of what you need.

You want Intel i7, 16GB of RAM and at least 512GB SSD and a video card that doesn't say shared. Not too sure what the best mobile cards are at this time.
Appreciate 1
nyalpine906057.00

      01-10-2019, 09:56 AM   #8
tdott
Colonel
1320
Rep
2,498
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South FL / 6ix

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyalpine90 View Post
browsing thru bestbuy

RAM: 8gigs or 12gig
Storage : SSD
Processor : Intel or AMD, which one? lots of options
Video Card : NVIDIA, INTEL or AMD
Quad core Intel i7, or even a quad i5 will do. (no i7 or i5 cpu that ends with U, i7-7600U for example)
Nvidia GTX or RTX laptop cards
Appreciate 1
nyalpine906057.00

      01-10-2019, 10:09 AM   #9
nyalpine90
Lieutenant General
nyalpine90's Avatar
United_States
6057
Rep
11,216
Posts

Drives: G01 Msport
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: N.Y.

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2016 BMW X4  [5.00]
thanks for the info!
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2019, 01:07 PM   #10
amgraham
New Member
41
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW X5 x35d
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (0)

AutoCAD recommends going with the Quadro or FirePro GPUs vs consumer/gaming GPUs:

"Important: Although Autodesk tested the NVIDIA GeForce and AMD Radeon consumer graphics cards, it is Autodesk, NVIDIA, and AMD policy to only recommend and support the professional NVIDIA Quadro and AMD FirePro graphics family cards. See the NVIDIA Quadro vs. GeForce GPUs White Paper." You might want to consult AutoCADs site...

I'm no expert though I've helped a few friends spec or build out AutoCAD and Solidworks rigs. Googling "best Autocad laptops" will get you a nice list to start from, though they'll be pricier (as their "workstation" class) machines than mid-level gaming rigs, but better suited for what you're doing...
Appreciate 1
nyalpine906057.00

      01-11-2019, 02:28 PM   #11
nyalpine90
Lieutenant General
nyalpine90's Avatar
United_States
6057
Rep
11,216
Posts

Drives: G01 Msport
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: N.Y.

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2016 BMW X4  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by amgraham View Post
AutoCAD recommends going with the Quadro or FirePro GPUs vs consumer/gaming GPUs:

"Important: Although Autodesk tested the NVIDIA GeForce and AMD Radeon consumer graphics cards, it is Autodesk, NVIDIA, and AMD policy to only recommend and support the professional NVIDIA Quadro and AMD FirePro graphics family cards. See the NVIDIA Quadro vs. GeForce GPUs White Paper." You might want to consult AutoCADs site...

I'm no expert though I've helped a few friends spec or build out AutoCAD and Solidworks rigs. Googling "best Autocad laptops" will get you a nice list to start from, though they'll be pricier (as their "workstation" class) machines than mid-level gaming rigs, but better suited for what you're doing...
Thanks for the info.
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2019, 02:34 PM   #12
R3dliner
Lieutenant Colonel
R3dliner's Avatar
United_States
844
Rep
1,905
Posts

Drives: 18 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NYC

iTrader: (5)

What's your budget?
My MSI 17 in laptop with a latest i7 and GTX 1080 destroys everything I throw at it but it's not cheap.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2019, 04:16 AM   #13
Dang3r
Schmollbraten
Dang3r's Avatar
Germany
4132
Rep
1,537
Posts

Drives: M4CPC
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Liandri Central Core

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amgraham View Post
AutoCAD recommends going with the Quadro or FirePro GPUs vs consumer/gaming GPUs:
Thats exactly the reason why I use a gamer notebook for this (and other things).
I work with Auto CAD since v9 (that was former DOS-times ) and noted the very last jump to change was since v14. From there the necessary performances are more stagnating and Autodesk starts to embed the new technologies like multicores and threading. Biggest advantage was for me at the end, that my work station at home hadnt to be torn between game and work/study but good for both worlds. And so do my notebook.
__________________
M4CP - ZX12R LE - GPZ750 Turbo

I///M the infidel, your BMW-dealer had warned you about
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2019, 02:36 AM   #14
BimmerGuru
Registered
BimmerGuru's Avatar
1
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: California, Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Laptop guide

Hey man. Here's a good guide that helped me find a laptop earlier this year: https://www.kyleshardware.com/best-laptops-under-600/

I got the Acer Aspire E 15 bythe way. Recommended.

Steve
Appreciate 1
nyalpine906057.00

      03-13-2020, 09:35 AM   #15
nyalpine90
Lieutenant General
nyalpine90's Avatar
United_States
6057
Rep
11,216
Posts

Drives: G01 Msport
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: N.Y.

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2016 BMW X4  [5.00]
due to virus spread, i will be working from home until im told to return to the office.
what Ethernet cable should i get, Cat6 or Cat7
i need to setup temp office at home since my employer is giving me pc, just tower.
I will need to purchase monitor, keyboard and mouse.
or
I can purchase all in one computer or laptop and hook up tower to it.
i have weekend to set this up.

any recommendations for cable, all in computer
thanks in advance
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2020, 09:57 AM   #16
Conissah
Captain
Conissah's Avatar
1157
Rep
928
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M2C
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyalpine90 View Post
due to virus spread, i will be working from home until im told to return to the office.
what Ethernet cable should i get, Cat6 or Cat7
i need to setup temp office at home since my employer is giving me pc, just tower.
I will need to purchase monitor, keyboard and mouse.
or
I can purchase all in one computer or laptop and hook up tower to it.
i have weekend to set this up.

any recommendations for cable, all in computer
thanks in advance
Cat6 or 7, buy whatever is cheapest. Unless you have some crazy bandwidth, you won't be able to tell the difference.

I am not an advocate for AIO comps, but if you MUST, get one with decent specs. An i7 is definitely not needed, you could drop to a good i5 and save some money. 16GB of RAM minimum, and find something with decent storage space, preferably all SSD (500GB+).

For monitors, 1080p minimum. You don't sound like you will be gaming on it, so 60 Hz refresh rate is fine, buy whatever you like. I have a ViewSonic 1440p 144Hz monitor I got on sale, an it has worked great for years. Same with my Samsung 1080p monitor, also works great. Buy what has decent reviews for the cheapest.
Appreciate 1
nyalpine906057.00

      03-13-2020, 10:04 AM   #17
nyalpine90
Lieutenant General
nyalpine90's Avatar
United_States
6057
Rep
11,216
Posts

Drives: G01 Msport
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: N.Y.

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2016 BMW X4  [5.00]
i have 2 VizioCast2680 at my office, the image is sharp!

I wont use it for gaming only for work and personal use.
Appreciate 1
Conissah1156.50

      03-13-2020, 10:08 AM   #18
Conissah
Captain
Conissah's Avatar
1157
Rep
928
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M2C
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyalpine90 View Post
i have 2 VizioCast2680 at my office, the image is sharp!

I wont use it for gaming only for work and personal use.
Also, unsure what you meant by this: "I can purchase all in one computer or laptop and hook up tower to it."

You can't plug up a PC to a laptop and use it's screen to display stuff. In other words, there is no video INPUT on laptops, only out.
Appreciate 1
nyalpine906057.00

      03-13-2020, 10:31 AM   #19
nyalpine90
Lieutenant General
nyalpine90's Avatar
United_States
6057
Rep
11,216
Posts

Drives: G01 Msport
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: N.Y.

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2016 BMW X4  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conissah View Post
Also, unsure what you meant by this: "I can purchase all in one computer or laptop and hook up tower to it."

You can't plug up a PC to a laptop and use it's screen to display stuff. In other words, there is no video INPUT on laptops, only out.
so your saying with laptop, i cant connect tower and access files?

Im leaning towards the monitor the all in one computer
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2020, 10:35 AM   #20
pennsiveguy
Captain
pennsiveguy's Avatar
United_States
3039
Rep
946
Posts

Drives: F15 xDrive50i M-sport
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Edina, MN

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyalpine90 View Post
so your saying with laptop, i cant connect tower and access files?

Im leaning towards the monitor the all in one computer
You can share files back and forth through a number of ways. Not sure what you mean by "all in one computer." Can you clarify?
__________________
2017 F15 xDrive50i M Sport | Superformance GT40 Roush 511 IR FE | 2006 Ford GT
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2020, 10:46 AM   #21
Conissah
Captain
Conissah's Avatar
1157
Rep
928
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M2C
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyalpine90 View Post
so your saying with laptop, i cant connect tower and access files?

Im leaning towards the monitor the all in one computer
Yes, you CAN do that. I was confused what you meant.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pennsiveguy View Post
You can share files back and forth through a number of ways. Not sure what you mean by "all in one computer." Can you clarify?
All in ones are computers inside of a monitor. No need to purchase a PC (whether it be a tower or a laptop) and then also a monitor and cables to hook them up, its literally just a thick monitor with a PC inside. You just need to plug in peripherals and you're good to go.
Appreciate 2
nyalpine906057.00

      03-13-2020, 10:58 AM   #22
nyalpine90
Lieutenant General
nyalpine90's Avatar
United_States
6057
Rep
11,216
Posts

Drives: G01 Msport
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: N.Y.

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2016 BMW X4  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by pennsiveguy View Post
You can share files back and forth through a number of ways. Not sure what you mean by "all in one computer." Can you clarify?
https://www.pcrichard.com/HP/HP-24-F.../24-F0060.pcrp
Appreciate 1
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.




zpost
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST