New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST > BMW Z4 Forum (E89) > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-15-2013, 10:45 PM   #1
Tom (Atl)
BMW Fan
Tom (Atl)'s Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
152
Posts

Drives: 2015 M235i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southeast, USA

iTrader: (1)

Cobb tune on 2014 z4 35i?

I know the 2014 Z4 sDrive35i and Z4 sDrive35is models are still using the N54 motors and Cobb will be supporting these vehicles with the current AP-BMW-001.

My question is this:

When will we know if the Cobb tune works on the 2014 z4 35i (due to possible DME/ECU updates)?

Is there a way to 'test' this in advance if I could access any car at the dealership?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2013, 06:04 PM   #2
Lambobimmer
Captain
United_States
30
Rep
913
Posts

Drives: 2009 Z4 sDrive35i DCT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrisburg, NC

iTrader: (10)

I am sure that they will have to build a new ROM. BMW will surely use a new version of the DME which means that Cobb will not support the 2014 as soon as it is released.
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2013, 04:50 PM   #3
z4z4z4
Lieutenant
z4z4z4's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
542
Posts

Drives: 2002 M3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: mild mediterranean breezes

iTrader: (1)

Good question!

The January 2013 build dates (I assume for 2014 models) still use the MSD81 DME as found in all N54 applications.

Part 12147616431 (Basic cotrol unit DME) was found on the following vehicles:
E60N 535i Sedan, N54 (NW13) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E60N 535xi Sedan, N54 (NV93) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E61N 535xi Touring, N54 (PT73) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E71 X6 35iX SAC, N54, AUTO (FG43) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E82 135i Coupe, N54 (UC73) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E82 M Coupé Coupe, N54T (UR93) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E88 135i Convertible, N54 (UN93) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E89 Z4 35i Roadster, N54 (LM73) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E89 Z4 35is Roadster, N54T (LM13) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E90 335i Sedan, N54 (VB77) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E90 335i Sedan, N54 (VB73) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E90 335xi Sedan, N54 (VD53) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E90N 335i Sedan, N54 (PM73) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E90N 335i Sedan, N54 (PM77) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E90N 335xi Sedan, N54 (PL33) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E92 335i Coupe, N54 (WB73) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E92 335xi Coupe, N54 (WC73) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E92N 335is Coupe, N54T (KG13) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E93 335i Convertible, N54 (WL73) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
E93N 335is Convertible, N54T (DX13) : Base control unit DME / MSD81
__________________
Sold 2011 Z4, kept 2002 M3
PM for various e89 parts 4sale.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 01:12 AM   #4
Tom (Atl)
BMW Fan
Tom (Atl)'s Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
152
Posts

Drives: 2015 M235i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southeast, USA

iTrader: (1)

How can one check the MSD # on a 2014 z4 in their possession, assuming they can get their hands on a known 2014 z4?
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2013, 11:29 AM   #5
Tom (Atl)
BMW Fan
Tom (Atl)'s Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
152
Posts

Drives: 2015 M235i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southeast, USA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom (Atl) View Post
How can one check the MSD # on a 2014 z4 in their possession, assuming they can get their hands on a known 2014 z4?
Bump...
I'm going to try to check one out in person if I can, but if anyone already knows if the DME has changed for the 2014 models, that info would be appreciated! anyone know yet?

I'll post my findings either way.

Last edited by Tom (Atl); 06-07-2013 at 11:39 AM.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2014, 05:46 PM   #6
emcd4
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 2014 Z4 s35i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Were you ever able to determine the MSD number for the 2014 Z4 n54 engine?
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2014, 10:15 AM   #7
jts1981
First Lieutenant
jts1981's Avatar
7
Rep
329
Posts

Drives: 2014 Z4 sDrive35is
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by emcd4 View Post
Were you ever able to determine the MSD number for the 2014 Z4 n54 engine?
According to Realoem we are in luck. It looks to be MSD81 DME.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2014, 10:48 PM   #8
emcd4
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 2014 Z4 s35i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the info and the website.
Looks like a Cobb AP is in the future for me.
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2014, 10:03 PM   #9
jts1981
First Lieutenant
jts1981's Avatar
7
Rep
329
Posts

Drives: 2014 Z4 sDrive35is
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by emcd4 View Post
Thanks for the info and the website.
Looks like a Cobb AP is in the future for me.
me too!
Appreciate 0
      04-19-2014, 05:16 PM   #10
jts1981
First Lieutenant
jts1981's Avatar
7
Rep
329
Posts

Drives: 2014 Z4 sDrive35is
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

I just picked up my Cobb and tried to install. I got the "unknown Rom" message. I will have to call Cobb and ask.

I called them a month ago to verify if it would work and Cobb said it should.

Now here is the thing. I bought the stage 1 package that comes with drop in filter. I was accidentally. Shipped
Appreciate 0
      04-19-2014, 05:18 PM   #11
jts1981
First Lieutenant
jts1981's Avatar
7
Rep
329
Posts

Drives: 2014 Z4 sDrive35is
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

The wrong filter. I received an N55 air filter.

Do you think I was also given an AP meant for an N55? Is that possible? Does the AP carry all BMW maps, or only the ones meant for a specific model?
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2014, 06:06 PM   #12
jts1981
First Lieutenant
jts1981's Avatar
7
Rep
329
Posts

Drives: 2014 Z4 sDrive35is
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Update! I got my Cobb AP to work. Just needed to update the beta firmware.

According to the AP I have IMEOS flash.

I'm running stage 1 fmic lt aggressive and so far so good. Wish the air filter was in though....
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2014, 07:08 PM   #13
jingnai2
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: 2014 Z4 35is
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

I ashley just call cobb headcourter last week and they told me that the currente 2013 tune should work fine on my 2014 35IS, the guy told me there is 80% chance that it will work, and Im taking my car in to their local dealer to get the custom dyno tune on May 16, I will keep you guys updated
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2014, 08:32 PM   #14
jts1981
First Lieutenant
jts1981's Avatar
7
Rep
329
Posts

Drives: 2014 Z4 sDrive35is
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jingnai2 View Post
I ashley just call cobb headcourter last week and they told me that the currente 2013 tune should work fine on my 2014 35IS, the guy told me there is 80% chance that it will work, and Im taking my car in to their local dealer to get the custom dyno tune on May 16, I will keep you guys updated
It will 100% work…

Just make sure you update the BETA firmware before installing. I made the mistake by just clicking update. Once I clicked update "beta firmware" then the AP started to download and update maps.

I installed mine earlier today and been running around town with now issues.

Can you let us know what flash you have? I was IMEOS. I know Lambobimmer had the same flash which is interesting because he has a 35I and I have 35IS...
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2014, 09:26 PM   #15
jingnai2
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: 2014 Z4 35is
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jts1981 View Post
It will 100% work…

Just make sure you update the BETA firmware before installing. I made the mistake by just clicking update. Once I clicked update "beta firmware" then the AP started to download and update maps.

I installed mine earlier today and been running around town with now issues.

Can you let us know what flash you have? I was IMEOS. I know Lambobimmer had the same flash which is interesting because he has a 35I and I have 35IS...
I had the appoinment made for May 16 for the custom dyno tune from Cobb, I will update you guys after the dyno tune
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2014, 10:42 PM   #16
jts1981
First Lieutenant
jts1981's Avatar
7
Rep
329
Posts

Drives: 2014 Z4 sDrive35is
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jingnai2 View Post
I had the appoinment made for May 16 for the custom dyno tune from Cobb, I will update you guys after the dyno tune
Awesome!! I'm thinking of getting a fews pulls just to see where I'm at now.

Please post pic!!
__________________

H&R SPRINGS / H&R SWAYS / WAGNER 5" STEPPED FMIC / ER CHARGE PIPE / TIAL BOV/ COBB AP3 STAGE 2 + / COBB DROP-IN FILTER / AR CATLESS DOWN PIPES / WEDGE DP FIX / CARBON FIBER FRONT LIP / CARBON FIBER SIDE BLADES / IND PAINTED REFLECTORS / FLAT BLACK GRILLS / Forgestar F14 F: 19x9 et35 R: 19x10 et38/ Michelin PSS F: 245/35/19 R: 275/30/19
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2014, 01:19 AM   #17
nicknaz
Major General
nicknaz's Avatar
United_States
165
Rep
5,088
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Just to help clarify, you meant that you had to hook up the Accessport to the "accessport manager" software on your laptop, to update the firmware on the Accessport right?

Others might get confused because there is updating the car's software, then there is updating the Accessport's firmware

I'm not sure the "rom" really matters, other than Cobb has figured it out and has released maps to support it.
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2014, 07:42 AM   #18
jts1981
First Lieutenant
jts1981's Avatar
7
Rep
329
Posts

Drives: 2014 Z4 sDrive35is
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Yep, I had to hook up the AP to the laptop, and through AP Manager select update beta firmware under "options."

If the AP doesn't recognize the Rom then it only allows you to copy the stock flash to the AP so it can be sent back to Cobb.
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2014, 09:11 PM   #19
jts1981
First Lieutenant
jts1981's Avatar
7
Rep
329
Posts

Drives: 2014 Z4 sDrive35is
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1048190

Take a look at this thread. Wedge is putting down some serious numbers using Cobb AP. Even better for us IS guys because he figured out how to utilize overboost for even more power. First tuner to do this. The gab between 35I and 35is is growing! He's putting down 530 wtq!!!
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2014, 01:21 PM   #20
Hujan
Colonel
United_States
58
Rep
2,505
Posts

Drives: 2013 E92 M3; 2010 Z4 35i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jts1981 View Post
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1048190

Take a look at this thread. Wedge is putting down some serious numbers using Cobb AP. Even better for us IS guys because he figured out how to utilize overboost for even more power. First tuner to do this. The gab between 35I and 35is is growing! He's putting down 530 wtq!!!
Isn't the overboost just dictated by software? Or is it something else? If software, I wonder why it couldn't be incorporated on the 35i.
__________________
E92 M3: BPM Sport Stg. 2 | Akrapovic Evolution | Brembo GT 380/380 | Ohlins R&T w/ Vorshlag CPs | RD Sport ARBs | BBS FIs 18"

E89 Z4 35i: Cobb Stg. 1+ | Evolution Racewerks FMIC | Tial BOV
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2014, 03:10 AM   #21
Asbjorn
Captain
Asbjorn's Avatar
China
11
Rep
665
Posts

Drives: ESS twin-turbo roadster (E89)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: European in China

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jts1981 View Post
Even better for us IS guys because he figured out how to utilize overboost for even more power. First tuner to do this.
You can run the same boost with the 35i and the 35is. The 35i software is not the limit in terms of max boost AFAIK. Reliability is.

What is so cool about the overboost function is increased reliability. If two cars both run, say, 15psi, but one drops it down to 11psi after 5 seconds, that car's components should last longer while the other car starts overtaking.
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2014, 03:49 PM   #22
Constant.S
Resistance is futile...
Constant.S's Avatar
14
Rep
614
Posts

Drives: BMW Z4 E89(N54) Porsche 997 4S
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Greece/Canada

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to Constant.S Send a message via Skype™ to Constant.S
off topic kinda but i was reading in a German forum last year that some guys flashed the 35is rom on their DME and had the overboost function.
__________________
An ounce of performance is worth pounds of promises.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:42 PM.




zpost
zpost
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST