New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST > BMW Z4 Forum (E89) > 2009-Current Z4 Forum (E89) General Discussion

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-24-2009, 06:18 AM   #1
zeez_Dubai
Private
5
Rep
86
Posts

Drives: Orion Silver Bmw Z4 35i
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dubai

iTrader: (0)

Did anybody try to reset the ECU of his Z4.

hello, ive read about people reseting there ECU after the first 1500miles or so.

reset it cause it learns your driving style and almost all of us are very kind for the first 1500miles so the car gets used to that.

anybody tried doing it yet? and what are the results?

i found a post about it in another forum.

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=411543
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2009, 06:24 AM   #2
mrboon
Lieutenant
mrboon's Avatar
No_Country
30
Rep
561
Posts

Drives: Speeeed
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: ***

iTrader: (0)

Interesting, im going to look into that.

Quote:
Works with any car that has Driver Adaptive Electronic Controlled Transmission.

1. Get in your car, it doesn't matter if you close the door or not.
2. Turn the key to the on (not start) position, the position just before the starter turns over. BMW: press start button – foot off brake - all idiot lights on.
3. Press the gas pedal to the floor with the key in the "on" position. BMW: All idiot lights on.
4. Hold the pedal to the floor for five seconds, then turn the key back to the "off position". BMW: foot off brake press start button - all idiot lights now off (don't remove the key), then release the gas pedal.
5. Wait a full 2 minutes for a full electronic alignment. Don't remove the key.
6. Start engine, drive the car, notice the difference.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2009, 06:58 AM   #3
zeez_Dubai
Private
5
Rep
86
Posts

Drives: Orion Silver Bmw Z4 35i
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dubai

iTrader: (0)

Let me know when you know.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2009, 09:31 AM   #4
Jay Zone
Private First Class
1
Rep
162
Posts

Drives: 2010 Z4 35i & 2010 M3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (0)

Worked great for me. I couldn't wait for the 1500 mile mark because I babied it during the break in and it was real sluggish. Even my wife noticed it did not have the pep of my 335i. Which I thought was interesting because it has the same exact engine except I Dinanized the 335i.

So I reset it at 880 mile mark and wow. Throttle response was the first thing I noticed.

Still taking it easy for the most part. But at 1500 everybody better look out.

JZ
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2009, 10:36 AM   #5
Oh Captain My Captain
With Great Power, Comes Great Responsibility
Oh Captain My Captain's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
291
Posts

Drives: 2012 Porsche Cayenne S
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pittsburgh

iTrader: (0)

I'll have to remember this post come March or April.
__________________
Drove a:
2010 Z4 35i

Now Drives:
2012 Porsche Cayenne S and a Toyota Sienna
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2009, 05:06 PM   #6
dcs2k
Lieutenant
17
Rep
440
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (0)

Tried it a week back. One thing that happened to me, the crank took a little longer than normal to start up.

Throttle response was better, D feels like it was in S.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2009, 03:43 PM   #7
yabbanoname
Private First Class
yabbanoname's Avatar
Belgium
1
Rep
115
Posts

Drives: Z4 sDrive35i
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Antwerp

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
did it, major "improovement", the milage ...
immediately after tank refill, a 500km range. (instead of 550), weird ...
__________________
GrtZ
Yo!
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2009, 01:11 AM   #8
zeez_Dubai
Private
5
Rep
86
Posts

Drives: Orion Silver Bmw Z4 35i
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dubai

iTrader: (0)

probably because your driving style has changed after the first 1000 miles or so.
now its learning from the new you.

mine now feels like its driving on S when am on D.
which is much much much better.
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2009, 10:02 AM   #9
Tamman69
Private First Class
1
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: Z4 2009 SDrive23i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Interesting read. Given that I spent my first 2000km touring across European motorways to get the Z4 to its new home, and most of those since (and to come) having consisted primarily of town driving where I rarely get out of 4th gear; would it be a good idea for me to do this or not? I'm assuming I can't set a 'restore' point and experiment : )
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2009, 11:36 AM   #10
Jay Zone
Private First Class
1
Rep
162
Posts

Drives: 2010 Z4 35i & 2010 M3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tamman69 View Post
Interesting read. Given that I spent my first 2000km touring across European motorways to get the Z4 to its new home, and most of those since (and to come) having consisted primarily of town driving where I rarely get out of 4th gear; would it be a good idea for me to do this or not? I'm assuming I can't set a 'restore' point and experiment : )
If you reset it It will just re-adapt to your current driving style.

If your totally happy with it as it is I would leave it alone.

If your curious, give it a try. Either way its a win win.

JZ
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2009, 11:48 AM   #11
Memphis1
Lieutenant Colonel
Memphis1's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
1,843
Posts

Drives: Z4 SDrive 35i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Zone View Post
If you reset it It will just re-adapt to your current driving style.

If your totally happy with it as it is I would leave it alone.

If your curious, give it a try. Either way its a win win.

JZ
hehe
__________________

Last edited by Memphis1; 02-19-2011 at 12:16 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2009, 04:30 PM   #12
mrboon
Lieutenant
mrboon's Avatar
No_Country
30
Rep
561
Posts

Drives: Speeeed
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: ***

iTrader: (0)

lol at the pic above.

Gonna try to reset it tomorrow, see if it does anything.
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2009, 07:03 PM   #13
Jay Zone
Private First Class
1
Rep
162
Posts

Drives: 2010 Z4 35i & 2010 M3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (0)

Admin ban memphis2012 forever for profanity



JZ
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2009, 10:29 PM   #14
Memphis1
Lieutenant Colonel
Memphis1's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
1,843
Posts

Drives: Z4 SDrive 35i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-31-2009, 05:59 AM   #15
mrboon
Lieutenant
mrboon's Avatar
No_Country
30
Rep
561
Posts

Drives: Speeeed
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: ***

iTrader: (0)

anyone maybe got a video of how to reset it? maybe someone can make one
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2010, 01:28 AM   #16
tranquility
sportscars only
tranquility's Avatar
Canada
40
Rep
1,573
Posts

Drives: 2011 Z4 sDrive 35i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Reviving this to see how many more Z4 owners tried this and the results. Thx.

EDIT: does that mean my radio and other computer settings will be reset as well?
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2010, 09:42 AM   #17
T89
Lieutenant Colonel
T89's Avatar
Switzerland
26
Rep
1,533
Posts

Drives: Z4 35i & Mini Cooper S
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Geneva & Joburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tranquility View Post
Reviving this to see how many more Z4 owners tried this and the results. Thx.

EDIT: does that mean my radio and other computer settings will be reset as well?
I did this when I switched to summer wheels in the spring. The pedal sensitivity and gear changes became sluggish due to cautious winter driving. After resetting the car became more lively and the transmission was more eager to shift.

Does not affect radio and other computer settings.


T
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2010, 10:23 AM   #18
jfmoreau
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: Z4 35i / DKG / Full
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

What is the process to reset the ECU ?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2010, 11:52 AM   #19
tranquility
sportscars only
tranquility's Avatar
Canada
40
Rep
1,573
Posts

Drives: 2011 Z4 sDrive 35i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by T89 View Post
Does not affect radio and other computer settings.
Thx. That's good to know.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jfmoreau View Post
What is the process to reset the ECU ?

Thanks
It can be found in here (please read the WHOLE thread first):
http://e89.zpost.com/forums/showthre...ight=reset+ecu
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:23 AM.




zpost
zpost
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST