New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST > BMW Z4 Forum (E89) > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-03-2009, 11:48 PM   #23
Roman@ESS
Roman@ESS's Avatar
108
Rep
2,663
Posts

 
Drives: ESS Supercharged E92 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: AZ

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alext View Post
Can you install this yourself or do you have to go somewhere? Just that I live 6 hours away from a major city in Australia.
Not yet but hopefully very soon. Until then the only way to get it for you would be to send us your DME and we would flash it for you.
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2009, 08:36 AM   #24
Vintage
Colonel
Vintage's Avatar
United_States
32
Rep
2,272
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Z4 35i and 2014 535d x
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Okay ESS - where is the nearest installer/dealer for this tune in the Fort Worth, Texas area (76063 zip code)?
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2009, 06:55 PM   #25
Alext
Colonel
No_Country
43
Rep
2,028
Posts

 
Drives: B M W
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everest

iTrader: (2)

Thanks for the reply Romen. Let us know here when you start selling the install-at-home flash. I think you would get a nice market share purely because of convenience. I know a lot of people on the 135i forum would love a tune like the GIAC flash that they could install at home via the OBD port through a laptop.
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2009, 01:21 PM   #26
Roman@ESS
Roman@ESS's Avatar
108
Rep
2,663
Posts

 
Drives: ESS Supercharged E92 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: AZ

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alext View Post
Thanks for the reply Romen. Let us know here when you start selling the install-at-home flash. I think you would get a nice market share purely because of convenience. I know a lot of people on the 135i forum would love a tune like the GIAC flash that they could install at home via the OBD port through a laptop.
We are woking on the self flash option now and should have it available soon.
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2009, 06:25 PM   #27
Alext
Colonel
No_Country
43
Rep
2,028
Posts

 
Drives: B M W
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everest

iTrader: (2)

Excellent
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2009, 09:17 AM   #28
jannisa
Lieutenant
jannisa's Avatar
12
Rep
500
Posts

 
Drives: Z4 Sdrive35i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Greece - IMF

iTrader: (0)

Hi Romen. I really appreciate your insight and responsiveness. When do you expect to have the at-home-flash ready?
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2009, 10:21 AM   #29
Roman@ESS
Roman@ESS's Avatar
108
Rep
2,663
Posts

 
Drives: ESS Supercharged E92 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: AZ

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jannisa View Post
Hi Romen. I really appreciate your insight and responsiveness. When do you expect to have the at-home-flash ready?
It is in development now, hopefully in the next 90 days. For those that dont want to wait sending the DME in to us is only about a 3 day process.
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2009, 08:27 AM   #30
Alext
Colonel
No_Country
43
Rep
2,028
Posts

 
Drives: B M W
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everest

iTrader: (2)

Any progress news on this? I am itching to try out a JB3 v1.4 but I just dont want to deal with the install process.
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2009, 12:48 PM   #31
RPIpower
Captain
9
Rep
672
Posts

 
Drives: 135i, 996tt, e60 M5, tundra
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alext View Post
Any progress news on this? I am itching to try out a JB3 v1.4 but I just dont want to deal with the install process.
Ive driven the 135i ess tune and if its anything like that for the z4, you guys are in for a treat. I had a chance to dyno it this week. Peak gains are ok but the torque, OMG.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 06:15 AM   #32
Alext
Colonel
No_Country
43
Rep
2,028
Posts

 
Drives: B M W
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everest

iTrader: (2)

Interesting I wonder why the difference.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 10:12 AM   #33
Roman@ESS
Roman@ESS's Avatar
108
Rep
2,663
Posts

 
Drives: ESS Supercharged E92 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: AZ

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alext View Post
Any progress news on this? I am itching to try out a JB3 v1.4 but I just dont want to deal with the install process.
Still working on it. It is still much simpler to send you DME in to us for a one time flash instead of pulling a piggyback in and out of your car for trips to the dealer, constant updates and code clearing sessions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPIpower View Post
Ive driven the 135i ess tune and if its anything like that for the z4, you guys are in for a treat. I had a chance to dyno it this week. Peak gains are ok but the torque, OMG.
The custom map created for RPI's 135i was made to get the most power out of the car knowing their customers are limited by CA 91 octane. The software used in the RPI 135i car is similar to our Z4 35i file. Also if anyone is in the LA area you can have our Z4 software done at RPI.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 11:04 AM   #34
Vintage
Colonel
Vintage's Avatar
United_States
32
Rep
2,272
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Z4 35i and 2014 535d x
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, Texas

iTrader: (0)

is pulling the DME easy - are instructions on your website?
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2010, 06:55 PM   #35
ttuner
Private First Class
ttuner's Avatar
7
Rep
184
Posts

 
Drives: z4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: anc

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VintageBMW View Post
is pulling the DME easy - are instructions on your website?
word..

?
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2010, 07:09 PM   #36
teagueAMX
Colonel
teagueAMX's Avatar
United_States
32
Rep
2,086
Posts

 
Drives: Some are road worthy
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: So Cal, USA

iTrader: (0)

From BMW Technology Guide

http://www.bmw.com/com/en/insights/t...ectronics.html

Quote:
Digital Motor Electronics (DME).

The comprehensive management system for your engine: Digital Motor Electronics (DME) controls all key aspects of the engine's operation, ensuring optimum reliability, maximum performance and the lowest possible fuel consumption and emissions.

By managing key engine functions, Digital Motor Electronics (DME) guarantees optimum reliability, maximum performance and the lowest possible fuel consumption and emissions. Its sensors continually all factors affecting the operation of the engine. The data is then evaluated by a microprocessor and translated into commands for the fuel injection and ignition systems.

The DME system receives up to 1,000 separate items of data input per second, including engine speed, air intake volume, air temperature and density, coolant temperature, throttle position, accelerator position and vehicle speed.

DME verifies all incoming data by comparing it with the reaction of the rest of the system. If a defective sensor delivers unrealistic data, DME replaces this with preset standard values. If a spark plug fails, DME immediately cuts fuel flow to this cylinder in order to prevent engine damage.

DME looks after the electrical power system too, with sensors measuring the charge and condition of the battery as well as current electrical power consumption. By maintaining optimum battery charge levels and thus avoiding flat batteries, it prevents damage to the battery and guarantees maximum battery life, thereby helping to ensure the engine always starts readily.

BMW introduced the world's first Digital Motor Electronics system in the BMW 732i in 1979.
.
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Political correctness is a doctrine fostered by a delusional liberal minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end".-- Unknown

Appreciate 0
      07-26-2010, 10:42 PM   #37
ttuner
Private First Class
ttuner's Avatar
7
Rep
184
Posts

 
Drives: z4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: anc

iTrader: (0)

instructions on removing the DME?
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2010, 12:21 AM   #38
Alext
Colonel
No_Country
43
Rep
2,028
Posts

 
Drives: B M W
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everest

iTrader: (2)

So I guess they never came out with their flash-at-home solution?
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2010, 08:22 AM   #39
Vintage
Colonel
Vintage's Avatar
United_States
32
Rep
2,272
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Z4 35i and 2014 535d x
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alext View Post
So I guess they never came out with their flash-at-home solution?
I do not know as I had a local BMW tuner install the ESS Stage II tune. It is amazing and I cannot recommend it highly enough - the car is now alive in the best way!
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2010, 04:43 PM   #40
Roman@ESS
Roman@ESS's Avatar
108
Rep
2,663
Posts

 
Drives: ESS Supercharged E92 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: AZ

iTrader: (5)

The ECU is located in the small black enclosure directly in front of the driver in the engine bay. Once you remove the top the ECU sits inside and is plugged in with two large clips.

Our handheld OBD flash loader is in the final phase of testing and will be available soon. This device will allow you to store and select from multiple files "including the stock file" to load at anytime.
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2010, 05:14 PM   #41
Alext
Colonel
No_Country
43
Rep
2,028
Posts

 
Drives: B M W
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everest

iTrader: (2)

Rom3n: nice to see you kept tabs on this old thread. Can I ask, will you be able to use your device be a true flash at home solution without having to bring the car/ECU into your establishment for the initial flash (for overseas users?).

IE: order over the net and Plug N Play?
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2010, 05:45 PM   #42
ttuner
Private First Class
ttuner's Avatar
7
Rep
184
Posts

 
Drives: z4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: anc

iTrader: (0)

i assume this is done via the OBD II port
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2010, 06:16 PM   #43
Roman@ESS
Roman@ESS's Avatar
108
Rep
2,663
Posts

 
Drives: ESS Supercharged E92 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: AZ

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alext View Post
Rom3n: nice to see you kept tabs on this old thread. Can I ask, will you be able to use your device be a true flash at home solution without having to bring the car/ECU into your establishment for the initial flash (for overseas users?).

IE: order over the net and Plug N Play?
Correct

Quote:
Originally Posted by ttuner View Post
i assume this is done via the OBD II port
Correct
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2010, 07:37 PM   #44
Alext
Colonel
No_Country
43
Rep
2,028
Posts

 
Drives: B M W
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everest

iTrader: (2)

Fantastic Rom3n, thanks for the reply. Will you make this compatible with the Z4 35is also?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.




zpost
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST