New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST > BMW Z4 Forum (E89) > 2009-Current Z4 Forum (E89) General Discussion

10-23-2010, 12:13 PM   #1
gypsyroadhog
Rep
Drives: Z4 sDRIVE 23i

Z4 sdrive 23i sound system - help needed

Hello, this is my first time on this forum so please be gentle with me
I have owned a Z4 sDRIVE 23i since April and I am over the moon with the car. The sound system is naff though
I have the standard system and was wondering if any upgrades were available. The other thing I wish to know is – the 2 door tweeters are producing nothing at all. Is this a fault or are all Z4s fitted with them and only connected if the top grade audio system is installed?
This really does let the car down badly. I had a Z3 before and spent a lot of money upgrading the sound system.
Any advice on this would be most welcome.
Appreciate 0
      10-23-2010, 12:24 PM   #2
teagueAMX
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: Some are road worthy

Welcome to the forum.

Sorry to hear about your sound system but that's a complaint others have expressed.

There is nothing that you can purchase over the counter that will drop into your existing configuring that will have a "stock" appearance. You only route is to work with a custom installer. The Z, or course, has very limited space so depending on how you want to go, you'll have to make some trade offs for placement of the additional equipment. One of the problems you'll face is that the existing Basic and Professional head-end units are pre-equalized. They don't have high equality low noise pre-outs either. So, unless you want a less than stock looking head-end unit, you 're stuck with pre-equalized, pre-amplified output signals, which is not desirable for a high end amplification. You need something like JL Audio's CleanSweep that takes the ugly signal, allows adjustment to clean it up and offers pre-out for your amps.