New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST > BMW Z4 Forum (E89) > 2009-Current Z4 Forum (E89) General Discussion

10-09-2012, 07:56 AM   #1
Wilsonv
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: BMW

Seeking help from you manual pros!

Hey all!
I drive a 2011 sdrive30i Manual

This might sound really stupid, but i am new to manual driving. Well to launching the car fast to be exact.

I am trying to find whats the optimum rev point for my the dump the clutch. (Or should i be slipping it instead?).

I was told to dump it at it's torque peak, which is 2700-3000 according to the BMW SPEC.

So please help me out and i hope i made it clear, Please don't bash me if i did anything wrong. Just seeking help from members

Cheers
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2012, 11:16 AM   #2
mstevens
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2020 Z4 M4Misano Blue

If you simply dump the clutch, you're going to damage something.

With practice, you'll learn how to launch without relying on the tach.
2004 E85 Z4 3.0 Sport - Sold to brother | 2004 E83 X3 xDrive3.0i - Gone | 2011 E89 Z4 35is - Gone | 2011 F25 X3 xDrive35i - Gone | 2014 E89 Z4 E89 35is - Gone | 2014 F25 X3 xDrive 30i X3 - Gone | 2017 F83 M4 Cabriolet - Gone | 2017 F25 X3 xDrive30i - Gone
2020 G29 Z4 M40i Misanoblau | 2020 G01 M40i Phytonicblau
Casa Suzana, vacation rental villa in Cozumel, Mexico
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2012, 03:26 PM   #3
ManiacGT
Major
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: Z4 sDrive 35i

Dumping the clutch at peak torque will do a few things, spin wheels (for a while if you turn off traction control), make smoke and squeal sounds, cost you quite a lot in tyre rubber and probably make you look silly to those around you who you might think are looking at you going 'cool'. It will also mean that you will place full load on every bearing, cog and shaft leading to premature wear or worse still breakage. These are not cheap cars to fix, so consider that.