New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST > BMW Z4 Forum (E89) > 2009-Current Z4 Forum (E89) General Discussion

07-28-2010, 04:34 PM   #1
davidmbell
Private First Class
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: 2012 E91 318d Exclusive

Garage List
What stereo / speakers do I have? (UK Spec 35i)

Hello all, I'm a newbie to Z4 ownership and have had my new baby since Saturday just gone.

Its a May 2009 Z4 SDrive35i in Deep Sea Blue with Pure White Design, Sat Nav, Hard Drive etc etc. It's done 13,500 miles and I consider got it at a decent price. (see here http://www.z4bmw.co.uk).

I've been getting use to all the things it has and reading about people complaining about the stereo.

Now I don't mind the stereo, although sometimes it just doesn't go loud enough. I think its fairly weighted bass wise and quite balanced, just lacking in overall volume.

My question is - I've seen three speaker options, standard, Business and Professional. The standard having four mids in doors and rear and two woofers in the footwell - AFAIK my car has this setup...

HOWEVER, when I fade the volume to the rear I can still hear and feel a fair amount of Bass coming from inside the door itself???

I can still hear and feel bass from the subs in the kick area, but I am CONVINCED there's also another speaker in the door itself, producing bass - this is noticable more when fader is set to rear. It seems to fade out a bit when the fader is set fully to the front? Odd...

Can anyone else please test this out on their car and see if they can also feel/hear bass coming from the doors when the fader is set to rear (helps to have door open so you can move your head toward the door speaker and listen/feel and so not to be fooled by the bass from the footwell).

BTW this is a UK car, with sat nav, so the head unit doesn't have the display - whichever that one is???

Thanks, in advance and look forward to future Z4 discussions.