New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST > BMW Z4 Forum (E89) > 2009-Current Z4 Forum (E89) General Discussion

12-03-2011, 11:27 PM   #1
HenryHank
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: E89 Z4, e39 M5

New Z4 buyer, looking for buying advice

Hello Everyone!

I'm new to the Z4 scene, but not new to BMWs. (I have an E39 M5 and used to have a E36 325i).

I'm in the market for a E89 Z4 (used), and have a couple of quick questions.

I've found a perfect Z4, but it has the wood trim on the console and dash -- how hard (and expensive) is it to swap that out for brushed metal or CF?

Also, in the used market from BMW dealers, how much do you think they'll negotiate down for a cash buyer at the end of the year? For instance, I'm looking at one 2011 Z4 for $46,500 and another '09 for $41,700. My trade-in (a 2005 Merc SLK350 LOADED) is worth about $20k in trade (according to KBB). Do you think I can go into the first dealer with my '05 SLK and a $25k bank check to make a deal on the '11, or a $20k bank check on the second?

I basically want to walk in with my trade-in and a check, and drive away with the Z4 and very little negotiations in under an hour. Possible?

Thanks, and I look forward to joining the gang here when I get a Z4.

-Hank
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2011, 02:52 AM   #2
STOOF
Sunburned
United_States
Rep
Drives: '16 F83 M4 Convertible 6MT

Garage List
2013 BMW 535i  [0.00]
If KBB trade-in is 20k, youll prob get more like 15k.

Dont be in such a rush to walk in and make a deal and leave.

Go in, negotiate the price of the car and negotiate the value of your trade-in, then go get a check.
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2011, 03:54 AM   #3
ChuckB
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2020 X2 2.0i

The interior trim is easy to replace, pretty much pops in and out.
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2011, 07:10 AM   #4
Jayda
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2009 Z4 35i