New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST > BMW Z4 Forum (E89) > 2009-Current Z4 Forum (E89) General Discussion

10-03-2010, 08:57 PM   #1
MHW_IND
Registered
Rep
Drives: Saturn

Question Question about clutch assembly

I am a newbie. I am looking at a 2009 w/manual trans. The car has 7500 mi. The Carfax is reporting a clutch assembly replacement at 7000 mi. Has anyone else had this replaced? If so, what was replaced and why? Or should I just pass on this one? Any information would be welcome. Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2010, 10:13 PM   #2
teagueAMX
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: Some are road worthy

What model are we talking about?

Is it a true manual transmission or a dual clutch transmission? Sometimes dealers are clueless and get these mixed up.

Is it being sold by a BMW dealership?

Can you get a repair history from the BMW dealership?

Does the CARFAX indicate it's being sold in the same state as the original owner?

Long and short of it: Manual transmission clutch failures are extremely rare under normal use, but that doesn't mean it wasn't a factory defect. The new clutch could be fine for many miles to come. If it's a dual clutch transmission (DCT) they fail very seldom but they would have replaced the entire transmission.

It could be completely innocent - the person had the car, treated it with TLC, the clutch was defective and BMW replaced it under warranty. The owner grew tired of it or wanted something else, so he/she traded it 500 miles later for something else on the BMW lot. Maybe even a different premium marque.