New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST > BMW Z4 Forum (E89) > 2009-Current Z4 Forum (E89) General Discussion

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-20-2011, 03:30 AM   #1
xtlwulf
Private
 
xtlwulf's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York

Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

Help, hardwiring Passport 8500 radar

hey, i didnt know where to post this, but this is driving me crazy.
i was able to successfully hardwire the passport 8500 x50 radar detector on my e90 however this was a while back and had to return the car. now i am trying to hardwire this same passport 8500 onto my e89 with the same procedure ( added a fuse tap onto the fusebox), but i can't seem to figure out what fuse to use this time. i read other DIYs and forums that peopled used the PDC fuse however my radar doesn't seem to turn on when i use this fuse. could anyone please help me out?
don't know if this will help out but heres a picture of the e89 fuse box.
Attached Images
 
__________________
xtlwulf is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-20-2011, 08:23 AM   #2
Land_Shark
In The Flesh
 
Drives: Z4 sDrive 35i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 600
iTrader: (0)

There should be a small diagram attached next to the fuse box detailing by numbers the empty slots you have. Pick a 5A empty slot and try your fuse tap, if this still does not work, try the same slot but with the alter sides (there would be a + & - polar.)
I don't think you can use the PDC fuse, cz there isn't always a current in that. If for the sake of it you want to try it, park next to a wall/car/object, put your car in reverse and your radar detector should turn on...(that is bcz your PDC is working and the current is passing through the fuse)
Land_Shark is offline   Hong Kong
0
Reply With Quote
      04-20-2011, 01:45 PM   #3
mcbeee
Lieutenant
 
mcbeee's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 Z4 s35i & '03 Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Calgary

Posts: 446
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2003 Z4 3.0i  [0.00]
2001 Z3 3.0i  [0.00]
2009 Z4 s35i  [0.00]
no help but wanted to say I just bought an 8500 and think it's great. I just plug it in as I move it around from car to car.
__________________
Member ZSCCA 2009 Z4 s35i with Dinan Stage II software, Sport and Exec packages, 19" 296 rims , a stubby and mud flaps
'03 Z4 3.0i Sterling Grey (Hers)
'01 Z3 3.0i Sapphire Black, M sport package (Mine)
mcbeee is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2011, 03:30 PM   #4
xtlwulf
Private
 
xtlwulf's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York

Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

i tried using an empty 5A slot but it doesn't seem to work.. i read some where that some one has it on the accessory cig lighter fuse but i don't know which fuse that is. anyone know? this is driving me nuts
__________________
xtlwulf is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 05:00 PM   #5
morfinx
Shenanigans
 
morfinx's Avatar
 
Drives: E89 Z4 sDrive35i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 1,222
iTrader: (0)

Did you ever figure this out? I'm about to attempt the same thing soon. Had a RD hardwired to the fusebox on a E92, now need to do the same for a E89.
morfinx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 10:50 PM   #6
rking117
Captain
 
Drives: Z4 3.0i & 320i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Central Florida

Posts: 996
iTrader: (0)

i tapped the cig lighter/charger under the dash on the passenger side (under the glove box). only took two screws to lower the panel then used wire taps to tap each wire positive and negative. took much less time to run the wires too.
rking117 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 11:40 PM   #7
morfinx
Shenanigans
 
morfinx's Avatar
 
Drives: E89 Z4 sDrive35i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 1,222
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rking117 View Post
i tapped the cig lighter/charger under the dash on the passenger side (under the glove box). only took two screws to lower the panel then used wire taps to tap each wire positive and negative. took much less time to run the wires too.
Interesting. I would prefer to use a fuse tap and not have to tap into any wires personally. I guess I'll have to go see how much more difficult that is.
morfinx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2012, 12:24 AM   #8
wdlfbio
Captain
 
Drives: Z4 35is, 335xi, Chevy 2500Dmax
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maple Valley, WA

Posts: 758
iTrader: (1)

I did the same thing. Solder the ends of my phone cord, pushed them intot he stock connector on the cig adapter, and plug the connector back into position. No problems. no splice or cut wires. EZ PZ
__________________
'08 Alpine white E92 M3 with DTC--Sold
'12 Alpine white E92 335 Xdrive with slush box
'07 Summit white Chevy 2500 HD Duramax/Allison
'12 Alpine white Z4 35is via EuroDelivery June 4th
wdlfbio is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2012, 02:13 PM   #9
BMWE934me
GySgt USMC
 
BMWE934me's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 335i E93 Alpine White
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: DFW

Posts: 675
iTrader: (25)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdlfbio View Post
I did the same thing. Solder the ends of my phone cord, pushed them intot he stock connector on the cig adapter, and plug the connector back into position. No problems. no splice or cut wires. EZ PZ
This is what I did too and it works great! No tools & no wire cutting, so easy to do and take back to stock if needed without damage to any harnesses.
__________________
'11 AW E93 335i Conv.
'11 OS E89 Z4 (Sold)
'10 AW E92 M3 (Sold)
BMWE934me is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2012, 02:49 PM   #10
morfinx
Shenanigans
 
morfinx's Avatar
 
Drives: E89 Z4 sDrive35i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 1,222
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWZ44me View Post
This is what I did too and it works great! No tools & no wire cutting, so easy to do and take back to stock if needed without damage to any harnesses.
How did you guys hide the wire? Behind the top of the windshield trim and behind the passenger side A-pillar?
morfinx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2012, 10:15 PM   #11
rking117
Captain
 
Drives: Z4 3.0i & 320i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Central Florida

Posts: 996
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by morfinx View Post
How did you guys hide the wire? Behind the top of the windshield trim and behind the passenger side A-pillar?
I pulled the molding up to the A Pillar and then ran the wire behind the windshield molding until i got to the mirror bezel. I used something like a lollipop stick to insert the wires.

Also note that my method is fused witha 15 amp fuse so my radar dector is protected. You can also use an inline fuse if you want and drop that fuse down to 5 amps. I also did not cut any wires so they cant void my warranty
rking117 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2012, 10:52 PM   #12
persian54
Lieutenant General
 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

Posts: 15,784
iTrader: (291)

i did a hardwire using the light console on top.. easier and quicker than a fuse tab
persian54 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2012, 10:46 AM   #13
rking117
Captain
 
Drives: Z4 3.0i & 320i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Central Florida

Posts: 996
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by persian54 View Post
i did a hardwire using the light console on top.. easier and quicker than a fuse tab
I was going to do that but then realized that BMW assist goes through that area and when grounded activates the call to BMW assist. I know i did it becaus i didnt have a schematic of the wires.
rking117 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2012, 11:18 AM   #14
morfinx
Shenanigans
 
morfinx's Avatar
 
Drives: E89 Z4 sDrive35i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 1,222
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rking117 View Post
I was going to do that but then realized that BMW assist goes through that area and when grounded activates the call to BMW assist. I know i did it becaus i didnt have a schematic of the wires.
Would you have done it that way if you had this DIY at the time?

http://e89.zpost.com/forums/showthread.php?t=669250
morfinx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2012, 04:38 PM   #15
persian54
Lieutenant General
 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

Posts: 15,784
iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rking117 View Post
I was going to do that but then realized that BMW assist goes through that area and when grounded activates the call to BMW assist. I know i did it becaus i didnt have a schematic of the wires.
I have BMW assist.... what do you mean? Mine never activates a call to BMW Assist.. .
persian54 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-18-2012, 10:12 PM   #16
rking117
Captain
 
Drives: Z4 3.0i & 320i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Central Florida

Posts: 996
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by morfinx View Post
Would you have done it that way if you had this DIY at the time?

http://e89.zpost.com/forums/showthread.php?t=669250
that would have worked for me.

The only thing i see I would have done differntly is place it lower in the window. The rear facing radar might get obstructed in that location. Mine is jsut below the rear view but out of my viewing area. This allows me to see the screen without it obstructing my view out the windshield and also allows the radar to see out the back.

Last edited by rking117; 11-18-2012 at 10:17 PM.
rking117 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-18-2012, 10:15 PM   #17
rking117
Captain
 
Drives: Z4 3.0i & 320i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Central Florida

Posts: 996
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by persian54 View Post
I have BMW assist.... what do you mean? Mine never activates a call to BMW Assist.. .
What i mean is when i probed the wires with a test light to fnd ground, i found the ground wire to the BMW assist module which activates the call. I didnt go any further from there as I did not want to do anything that would void my warranty or alert them that i was tamperring with the unit. I know how stubborn they can be about things like this. They being BMW. So i went the other route. Once you find the right wire there isnt an issue.
rking117 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-18-2012, 11:20 PM   #18
morfinx
Shenanigans
 
morfinx's Avatar
 
Drives: E89 Z4 sDrive35i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 1,222
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rking117 View Post
that would have worked for me.

The only thing i see I would have done differntly is place it lower in the window. The rear facing radar might get obstructed in that location. Mine is jsut below the rear view but out of my viewing area. This allows me to see the screen without it obstructing my view out the windshield and also allows the radar to see out the back.
Only the Valentine 1 has a rear radar sensor. Doesn't matter for Escort/Beltronics RDs.
morfinx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.




zpost
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST